My EC&I 831 Summary..

Hi everyone,

Here is my Summary of Learning. Am I happy with my product? Yes! I was beaming ear to ear when it was all complete. I hope you enjoy it as well  🙂

The Summary of Learning itself:

As I created it I was totally 100% focused (crazy, right?). I was interested in Powtoon and didn’t realize the extent that it could be used. I had used similar programs and welcomed my students doing that as well for presentations. One day, I even spent 12 full hours working on it and only moved to grab a drink or run to the washroom. It didn’t take long to understand how it worked but I did head back into work to complete it with my double screens and mouse. It was way easier that way. Even after it was uploaded onto YouTube I had to figure out how to change the thumbnail– thanks to this video for helping me out!

What am I most proud of?

A few things.. here they are:

  1. That I used voiceover. Initially when I read the assignment that needed to include live audio/video, I was immediately nervous. I hate hearing my own voice! (Haha, anyone who knows me might laugh at that one). Voiceover was out of my comfort zone, but I figured, this class is all about trying something new and experimenting with technology. I didn’t quite master the art of voiceover. The sound wasn’t great. I realized I had to talk quietly and then I turned down the music as low as I could. Not perfect but I’m still happy with my product.
  2.  Using Creative Commons images right in the program. Super easy to use and you could even show different images inside of icons within the program. Cool!
  3. Sharing as public, not even listed or private on YouTube! I’m more of a private or listed type of person when it comes to posting anything online but I’ve really tried to focus on sharing my work over the last few months. I think we all need to do our part when it comes to sharing our learning and facilitating learning with others. Even if they view your work, get a few more ideas or want to edit something of theirs from watching yours and seeing something they like (or even something of yours they would like to improve on theirs). This point is the whole idea of Social Media/Open Education. How can we broaden our knowledge and the knowledge of others?

What could I have improved on my final project?

  1.  I didn’t realize my maximum amount of time as 5 minutes. I needed probably at least one more minute as there was a lot to read on some slides. Not ideal, but you are able to pause if need be. I did read the most important portions of the slide for that reason.
  2. My photos were found on Creative Commons inside of Powtoon but I wasn’t sure if attribution was given appropriately. On my video page on Powtoon, not all the images I used were included in the Creative Commons attribution page. I’m not sure why all the photos weren’t there, as they were all taken the same way. Sorry! I wasn’t able to edit as my Premium Trial ended and the video couldn’t be exported after being edited.

What’s my biggest personal gain in this course? An increased amount of confidence. I’m willing to try something that is out of my comfort zone. For example, tweeting someone I don’t know for help in a certain area. And as I said earlier, I’m proud of myself for my final project!

Now onto the course in general..

Which articles/videos/ etc had the most impact on me this semester? 

Here are my TOP 10:

  1. During week 3: Pocket is one of my new favourite apps. I love the ability to organize readings and even view offline. I was also happy to start using Google + communities. That would be an awesome way to collaborate with others! Using Zoom was also an awesome experience. My favourite part of this week? Joining #FGChat and #spedchat. #Spedchat is a fantastic chat/ community for those interested.
  2. Week 4: Learning from  Dave Cormier this week and discussing Rhizomatic learning! Reflection: How do we change our teaching to meet our digital learners? professional challenge: start with one class and have them develop their own PLE (personal learning environment)
  3. Week 6/7, my language is expanding: Content Curation.
  4. That same week, Why Even the Worst Bloggers Are Making Us Smarter
    “Ory Okolloh may not have thought she wanted to write a book, but in a sense, she already had.” Inspirational, Motivational – Our words have power. Truly Amazing.
    What does this mean for our students Blogging?
  5. Top 3 take-aways from this week:
    1) Teenagers are self-trolling. I had no idea. Cyber self-harm?
    2) Yik Yak app. Do we teach digital citizenship effectively in schools?
    3) trends in technology use can be attributed to S.E.S and Race.
  6. Week 8: Lessig : “Using digital technology to say things differently”, “tools of creativity, tools of speech” Boyd : Moving from traditional academic publishing (paper) to digital, open-access journals.
  7.  Week 9: Maggie’s Digital Content Farm: what are we having our students contribute to online?
  8. Week 10: Net neutrality: a “new to me” concept. Without net neutrality, a negative impact for smaller companies and the education system.
  9.  The week of videos and articles surrounding harassment online. Words to desribe the readings: shocking, disappointing and a reality of online harassment for women online. How can we make a difference? How can law enforcement support?
  10. Livesteaming Apps to Promote Justice– Are we keeping people safe, highlighting social injustice, or infringing on the privacy rights of others?

My Learning Project reflection:

Collaborative Tools in Schools for Teachers
I wanted to know:
What does collaboration look like today?
Has technology shaped collaboration?
How do people network professionally?
What should I check out? Slack, Voxer, FB?
What are my school divisions plans of resource sharing?
How is it different from Elementary to Highschool?
Does Interprofessional collaboration look different?
What does collaboration look like world wide?
How can I use Twitter to collaborate?

What did I do to accomplish my goal:

Globally:
I connected with teachers in Thailand, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Taiwan, Malaysia, US and England on how they collaborate. I did this with email, FaceTime, Google Forms and Facebook Messenger. All shared different perspectives on how their students and staff work together.
Online:
I connected with educators via Facebook groups. I tested out Voxer, Slack, viewed TED Talks and even did my own Screencast (totally out of my comfort zone!). There are a lot more websites to see, apps to test and reviews/articles to read!
Locally:
I reviewed what my division offers for teacher collaboration, spoke with teachers and observed how kids collaborate and what they use to do so using their own devices, school laptops and Ipads.

My last note.. Thank you to Alec and Katia for providing a deliberately open class with engaging reading material and a self-directed component. As this was my first Master’s class I appreciated Alec’s willingness to help and Katia’s stalking skills (haha!). At times, especially after the Midterm feedback I was feeling overwhelmed but the feedback led to me to improve myself and my ways of learning. Thank you. 

-Janelle

Leave a Reply

